Melbourne noir

How to understand the movement of a film?

During the period that I took the pictures and videos about Melbourne noir, I was thinking a question why the video/film are always more touching than the picture? And then, I’ve realized that the answer to this question may help me to understand the video/film better. Therefore, I did some research, and I found that the “movement” is a fundamental element which we cannot avoid it to discuss the film.

So, what is the film? On the Cambridge Dictionary, the film is “a series of moving pictures, usually shown in a cinema or television and often telling a story”(Cambridge Dictionary 2017). It is clear that the movement is the biggest difference between picture and film, and the movement is the initial thing which makes film touching, vivid and various. For instance, I chose the taxi driver as my protagonist, if I just show the picture below, people cannot know how did they work and how did they deal with the passenger. However, if I

show the video of them, which demonstrate their movement, then everything above will be exposed.

 

After the discussion of film and picture, let’s move to the keyword, movement. At first, I want to mention a very enlightening video named Akira Kurosawa–Composing movement which is made by Tony Zhou(2015). Zhou points out that there are four types of movement in the film which include the movement of nature, the movement of groups, the movement of individuals and the movement of the camera.Usually, an unforgettable scene or film is composed of a various type of movement. A good filmmaker should always know how to use the movement of nature such as rain, wind, and sun to illustrate the emotion of protagonists. A professional photographer should understand how to use the camera to track every single movement of protagonist whether running or walking(‘Tips and tricks of using movement in film production‘ n.d). A talented actor should learn how to move the body to make the comedy, like Charlie Chaplin. Looking back to my video, I sat behind the driver and held my iPhone to record the process of his driving. In this situation, I did not move my phone because the driver moved his arm to control the steering wheel, I just needed to make sure that the driver always stayed in the picture. So, in my video, there are two types of movement which are the movement of individual and the movement of nature (the buildings and lights outside the window). I do not need to say anything, but the audience can see what did I see and what did I experience at that moment, which the picture cannot show.

I have to say that this homework provided me a good opportunity to rethink the film. I can understand now why people say that every detail in a great film must be for some reasons, and I also think that I will find more fun in the future during I’m watching or making a film.

 

Reference list:

Tony, Z 2015, Akira Kurosawa–Composing movement, Vimeo, viewed 15 March 2017, <https://vimeo.com/122702786>.

EDICTIVE n.d, Tips and tricks of using movement in film production, EDICTIVE, viewed 15 March 2017, <http://edictive.com/blog/tips-tricks-using-movement-film-production/>.

Calhoun, J 2003, ‘Putting the ‘move’ in movie’, American Cinematographer, viewed 15 March 2017, <http://www.theasc.com/magazine/oct03/sub/page2.html>.

Lewis J 2004, ‘In Focus: What Is Cinema? What Is “Cinema Journal?”: Parting Glances’, Cinema Journal, vol.43, no.3, pp. 98-101, viewed 15 March 2017, ProQuest database.

Screenshot of Hootsuite

Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 18.44.18

Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 18.44.28

Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 18.44.36

Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 18.44.49

The video 

Melbourne noir

 

Creative Commons Licence
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

